News & information

Keep up with the latest from R&D Partners

David M. Sabatini Wins 2017 Lurie Prize

David Sabatini

David M. Sabatini received the fifth annual Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences for his discovery of the mTOR (mechanistic target of rapamycin) cellular pathway as a key regulator of growth and metabolism in response to nutrients. Dr. Sabatini’s research has identified the specific protein components of the mTOR pathway—including mTOR and two large complexes that contain it, called mTOR Complex 1 (mTORC1) and Complex 2 (mTORC2).

Previous recipients of the Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences are Jeannie T. Lee, M.D., Ph.D., from Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School, who won the honor last year; Karl Deisseroth, M.D., Ph.D., from Stanford University (2015); Jennifer Doudna, Ph.D., from the University of California, Berkeley (2014); and Ruslan M. Medzhitov, Ph.D., from Yale University School of Medicine (2013).


Click Here For The The Nobel Prize Winners from 2016